Bangladesh Map

A map of Bangladesh that displays major cities, towns, roads, and rivers.  It includes a terrain map that shows the trans-boundary Ganges River. Finally, the divisions of Bangladesh are included in an administrative map.


Bangladesh Political Map

Bangladesh is a country located in Southern Asia. It’s situated along the Bay of Bengal and borders just 2 countries. Bangladesh shares a border with Myanmar to the southeast. Whereas India wraps around Bangladesh from west to east. Bangladesh stands out as one of the most densely populated countries in the world. It occupies an area of 148,560 square kilometers (57,360 sq mi) and is the eighth-most populous country in the world. The capital of Bangladesh is Dhaka, which is also the largest city in the country.


Bangladesh Physical Map

The terrain of Bangladesh is mostly flat plains. Then, it transitions to hills to the Chittagong Hills in the southeast. This holds Bangladesh’s highest peak, Keokradong, at 986 meters (3,235 ft) near the border of India. A major, trans-boundary river that flows from the Himalayas south through Bangladesh is the Ganges River. As it flows south to the Mouths of the Ganges, it forms the Sundarbans mangrove. Specifically, it’s at the confluence of the Ganges, Brahmaputra, and Meghna River, which after exits into the Bay of Bengal. Several major settlements are built near the deltas of rivers in Bangladesh.


Bangladesh Divisions Map

There are 8 major administrative divisions in Bangladesh. Then, each division is divided into districts. Each division is named after a major city within its jurisdiction and serves as the administrative capital.  The 8 divisions of Bangladesh are Barishal, Chattogram, Dhaka, Khulna, Rajshahi, Rangpur, Mymensingh and Sylhet.