Home » US Maps » US Election of 1820 Map

US Election of 1820 Map

James Monroe ran for president without any notable opponents. He really didn’t have to campaign to regain his second term as president.

But a number of issues arose during his era as president. For example, there was a financial crisis and mounting pressure between “free states” and “slave states”.

In addition, four new states participated in the election, including Illinois, Alabama, Mississippi, and Missouri. After all the votes were counted, James Monroe beat out J.Q. Adams from the Independent Republican to regain his 2nd term as president of the United States.

James Monroe

The fifth president of the United States (second term)

Vice President: Daniel D. Tompkins
Total Electoral Votes: 231
Electoral Vote: 99.5%
Political Party: Democratic-Republican

James Monroe

1820 Election Timeline

1808: James Madison
1812: James Madison
1816: James Monroe
1820: James Monroe

1824: John Quincy Adams
1828: Andrew Jackson
1832: Andrew Jackson
1836: Martin Van Buren

US Election 1820 Timeline

You are free to use our US election maps for educational and commercial uses. Attribution is required. How to attribute?

US election map collection

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *