Home » US Maps » US Election of 1868 Map

US Election of 1868 Map

US Election 1868

Election of 1868 Summary

Andrew Johnson who served as president after Lincoln’s assassination didn’t get re-nominated. Instead, Horatio Seymour unwillingly took his place.

Since the previous election, Nebraska could participate in this one. Also, African Americans could vote for the first time.

The Republicans nominated Ulysses Grant, a former war hero. After counting the votes, he easily won against Seymour with 214 electoral votes.

Ulysses Grant

Eighteenth President of the United States

Vice President: Schuyler Colfax
Total Electoral Votes: 214
Electoral Vote: 73%
Political Party: Republican

Ulysses Grant

1868 Election Timeline

1856: James Buchanan
1860: Abraham Lincoln
1864: Abraham Lincoln
1868: Ulysses Grant

1872: Ulysses Grant
1876: Rutherford Hayes
1880: James Garfield
1884: Grover Cleveland

US Election 1868 Timeline

You are free to use our US election maps for educational and commercial uses. Attribution is required. How to attribute?

US election map collection

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *