Home » World Atlas » Mongolia Map

Map of Mongolia

This map of Mongolia displays major cities, towns, highways, roads, lakes, and rivers. It contains satellite imagery, an elevation map, and a provincial map of Mongolia.


Mongolia Political Map

Mongolia is located in Northern Asia and is the world’s 18th largest country in terms of area. It’s situated between China to the south and Russia to the north. Mongolia is the least densely populated country in the world with just 5 people per square mile. The capital and largest city of Mongolia is Ulaanbaatar, which is also the world’s coldest capital. Other major cities are Erdenet, Darkhan, and Choibalsan.


Mongolia Satellite Map

Mongolia occupies an area of 1,564,116 square kilometers (603,909 sq mi), which is similar in size to Alaska. It’s the largest landlocked country in the world and one of the largest land areas in Asia.  Mongolia is mostly desert or semi-desert plains with grassy steppe.  Specifically, the Gobi Desert occupies most of the southeast part of the country. While its longest river is the Orkhon River at 1,124 kilometers (698 mi), its largest lake by surface area is Uvs Lake.  Mongolia lies between 42°N and 52°N latitude with a desert, continental climate.


Mongolia Physical Map

Mongolia is one of the highest-lying countries with an average elevation of 1,580 meters (5,180 ft).  It consists of a vast central plateau with the Altay Mountains situated in the west. At 4,356 m (14,291 ft) in height, this is the location of Mongolia’s highest point, the Khuiten Peak. Whereas its lowest point is at 560 m (1,840 ft) at Lake Huh. Another mountain range is the Hentiyn, along its border with Russia. Also, Hangayn is in west-central Mongolia.


Mongolia Provincial Map

Provinces are the first-level unit in Mongolia that are divided geographically and administratively.  Altogether, there are 21 provinces within Mongolia. But the capital of Ulaanbaatar acts as an independent provincial municipality. After provinces, the second-level unit is districts.

World Atlas

Visit our world atlas and explore all the continents and countries of the world. Get a blueprint of the world with political, satellite, and topographic maps.