Home » World Atlas » Map of Peru

Map of Peru

This map of Peru displays major cities, towns, roads, and rivers.  It includes everything from the Andes Mountains to the Amazon Rainforest in an elevation map and satellite imagery.


Peru Political Map

Peru is located in the west of South America. It borders 5 countries including Ecuador to the north, Colombia to the northeast, Brazil to the east, Bolivia to the southeast, and Chile to the south. Additionally, it has a coastline of 2,414 km (1,500 mi) along the South Pacific Ocean. It’s known for Machu Picchu, the Andes mountains, the Amazon rainforest, and was the administrative, political and military center of the Incan Empire. Lima is the capital and the largest city of Peru. Other major cities are Arequipa, Trujillo, and Chiclayo.


Peru Satellite Map

There are three types of dominant landscapes in Peru. First, the Sechura Desert is an arid coastal area in northwest Peru. Secondly, the mountainous Sierra and Andes span the center of Peru, which is also home to the UNESCO World Heritage site of Machu Picchu. Finally, the lowland jungle and tropical rainforests of the Amazon Basin lie in the east of Peru. Another prominent feature is Lake Titicaca along its border with Bolivia. This is the world’s highest navigable lake and is one of South America’s largest lakes. Some of its most important rivers are the Amazon, Purus, Jurua, and Marañón River. But the longest river that is entirely within Peru is the Ucayali River.


Peru Physical Map

One of the dominant features in Peru is the highland region along the central-west coast of the country. This mountain chain is the Andes Mountains, which extend along the entire west coast of the South American continent.  At 6,768 meters (22,205 ft), Nevado Huascaran is Peru’s highest peak. Whereas its lowest point is Bayóvar Depression at −34 meters (−112 ft) below sea level. Otherwise, the lowland jungle and tropical rainforests of the Amazon Basin lie to the east of Peru and the low coastal region to the west.


Peru Regions Map

Regions/departments are the first-level administrative unit in Peru, which are divided geographically and administratively. Currently, there are 25 regions in Peru. Additionally, there is one province, which is similar to its regions. Regions or departments in Peru are divided into provinces, which are the second-level administrative unit. Finally, provinces are subdivided into districts, which are the finest level of administration.

World Atlas

Visit our world atlas and explore all the continents and countries of the world. Get a blueprint of the world with political, satellite, and topographic maps.