Mexico Map

A map of Mexico with major cities, roads, islands, lakes, and rivers. An elevation map and satellite imagery highlight its Central Plateau (Mexican Altiplano) to its desert and rainforests.


Mexico Map

Mexico is located in North America, along the Pacific Ocean and Gulf of Mexico. Altogether, it borders 3 countries including Belize and Guatemala to the southeast. Also, it borders California, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas of the United States to the north. Over 128 million people live in Mexico and it’s the 10th most populous country. In fact, Mexico City is bigger in size and population compared to New York City. The country is known for its Aztec people, festivals like Day of the Dead, and having the largest population of Spanish speakers in the world.


Mexico Satellite Map

Mexico occupies an area of 1,972,550 square kilometers (761,610 sq mi), which makes it 13th largest in the world. To the northwest, the Baja Peninsula is an elongated extension and is separated by the Gulf of California. It includes several islands like Revillagigedo Islands, Guadeloupe Island, and Socorro Island. Overall, Mexico has a tropical climate and is home to two main desert regions – Sonoran Desert and Chihuahuan Desert. Then, it transitions to dense rainforests to the southeast. While the longest river is the Rio Grande, Mexico’s largest lake is Lake Chapala.


Mexico Physical Map

The terrain in Mexico is a mix of rugged mountains, low coastal plains, deep canyons, and high plateaus. While the Sierra Madre Occidental Mountains lie in the west, the Sierra Madre Oriental are situated to the east. Between the two mountain chains, the Central Plateau (Mexican Altiplano) spans from the United States to the central region of Mexico. The highest point in Mexico is Pico de Orizaba, which is the highest volcanic summit in North America at 5,636 meters (18,491 ft) in height. The lowest point is Laguna Salada at 10 meters below sea level. Also, the world’s smallest volcano (Cuexcomate) is in Mexico.


Mexico States Map

States are the first-level administrative unit in Mexico which are divided geographically and administratively.  Currently, there are 31 states that make up Mexico. Additionally, there is the capital city of Mexico City, which is its own federal entity. Next, Mexico divides states into municipalities. But the capital of Mexico City contains boroughs, instead of municipalities.