Albania Map

A map of Albania that displays major cities, towns, roads, and rivers.  It includes a satellite and physical map to view its mountainous terrain to the east and vast stretch of plains in the west.


Albania Political Map

Albania is a country in Southeastern Europe, along the Adriatic Sea and Ionian Sea.  It borders 4 other countries including Montenegro to the north, Greece to the southeast, as well as Kosovo and North Macedonia to the east.  Tirana is Albania’s capital and largest city in the west central region. One key characteristic of Albania is its war bunkers, which were built for militaristic preparation. Although the war bunkers were never used in combat, there are still over 173,000 throughout the country.


Albania Satellite Map

Albania occupies an area 28,748 square kilometers (11,100 sq mi), which is similar in size to Armenia.  According to the FAO, forests cover about 36% of the total land area of Albania. Other types of landscapes in Albania are its rolling green hills, freshwater lakes, and temperate beaches along the west coast. But agriculture is one of the most prominent sectors in Albania. For example, it’s a major producer of tobacco and medicinal plants.  Three of its largest lakes lie on its boundaries including Lake Scutari, Lake Ohrid, and Lake Prespa.


Albania Physical Map

The terrain in Albania is mostly mountains with plains along the coasts. Specifically, it’s mostly mountainous in the eastern region such as the Albanian Alps, Skanderbeg, Pindus and Ceraunian Mountains.  Whereas the west Myzeqeis has the largest and widest plain in Albania. The highest point in Albania is Mount Korab, reaching 2,764 meters in height.


Albania Counties Map

Since its independence, Albania has undergone reforms in its administrative divisions 21 times. First, counties are the first level of government. Since 2000, there are a total of 12 counties in total. If you break down Albania a level further, the next level are municipalities.  Finally, you can divide municipalities further into units which is the finest level of governance in Albania. The Presidential Office is located in the capital city of Tirana.