Home » World Atlas » Tanzania Map

Map of Tanzania

This reference map of Tanzania displays the iconic country known for Mount Kilimanjaro, the Serengeti, and Lake Victoria. It includes satellite imagery and an elevation map to view its mountains, valleys, plains, and plateaus.


Tanzania Political Map

Tanzania is located in eastern Africa, along the Indian Ocean. The country is filled with memorable sites like Mount Kilimanjaro, the source of the Nile, the Serengeti, and Africa’s largest lake, Lake Victoria. Also, it’s known for its wilderness, safaris, and Big Five game animals including the elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, and rhino. It borders 8 African countries including Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique. The capital of Tanzania is Dodoma. But its largest city is Dar es Salaam. Other major cities are Mwanza, Zanzibar, and Arusha.


Tanzania Satellite Map

Tanzania is part of the African Great Lakes region (Rift Valley Lakes). Lake Victoria is Africa’s largest lake, the second largest freshwater lake by area, and a source of the Nile. Also, Tanzania is home to the world’s second deepest lake, which is Lake Tanganyika in the west. Finally, Lake Nyasa (Lake Malawi) is 350 miles in length found in southwest Tanzania. Overall, the Serengeti Plain spans the northern region of Tanzania and is home to the second-largest terrestrial mammal migration in the world. It’s the site of around 1.5 million wildebeest migration, which makes it one of the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa and a natural travel wonder of the world.


Tanzania Physical Map

One of the most iconic landmarks in Tanzania is Mount Kilimanjaro. Not only is it the highest point in Africa, but it’s also only one of three mountain ranges with glaciers at the peak. Mount Kilimanjaro and Mount Meru stand in the northeast of Tanzania and both are inactive volcanoes. The terrain of Tanzania is diverse and is a mix of valleys, plateaus, plains, and mountains. At the center of Tanzania is a large plateau with grassland and arable land to the north and south. Otherwise, the Ngorongoro Crater is a World Heritage Site in the Arusha Region to the north. Overall, Tanzania lies just below the equator with a hot and humid climate with two separate rainy seasons.

World Atlas

Visit our world atlas and explore all the continents and countries of the world. Get a blueprint of the world with political, satellite, and topographic maps.