New Zealand Map
Download Icon Download

This New Zealand map displays major cities, towns, regions, roads, and rivers. It includes its two main islands, the Southern Alps, and Canterbury Plains in satellite imagery and an elevation map.

You are free to use our New Zealand map for educational and commercial uses. Attribution is required. How to attribute?

About the map

New Zealand World Map

New Zealand is an island country in the South Pacific Ocean as part of Oceania. The country is known for rugby, kiwi, sheep, and its indigenous Maori culture. New Zealand is located to the southeast of Australia, which is separated by the Tasman Sea.

Also, the islands of Tonga, Fiji, Vanuatu, and New Caledonia are all close to New Zealand to the north. New Zealand is made up of two main islands – the North (Te Ika-a-Māui) and the South Island (Te Waipounamu), which are separated by the Cook Strait.

The South Island is the larger of the two islands and is less populous but contains the two major cities of Christchurch and Dunedin. Whereas the North Island is smaller in size but more populous with major cities like Auckland, Wellington, and Hamilton. Additionally, New Zealand’s capital city Wellington is located on the southwest corner of the North Island.

Google Maps Icon New Zealand in Google Maps


New Zealand Satellite Map

Altogether, New Zealand occupies a total area of 268,710 square kilometers (103,750 sq mi), which makes it the sixth-largest island country in the world. The country contains an estimated 600 islands, including some of its largest like Stewart Island (Rakiura), Chatham Island, and Auckland Island. Although deforestation has been an issue in New Zealand, forests cover 38 to 43% of the land area. At 3,487 square kilometers (1,346 sq mi), Lake Taupo is the largest lake, which is a caldera of a volcano on the North Island. Waikato River is the longest river which flows for about 425 km (264 mi) in length on the North Island as well.

New Zealand Satellite Map


New Zealand Physical Map

The terrain in New Zealand is mostly mountainous with large coastal plains. It’s the converging Australian and Pacific tectonic plates that have sculpted these mountain chains like the Southern Alps. At 3,724 meters (12,218 ft) in height, Mount Cook (Aoraki) is the tallest mountain in New Zealand within the Southern Alps. Whereas its lowest point is the Taieri Plain at -2 m below sea level. Other notable geographic features are the Kaikoura Ranges which lie to the northeast, and the Canterbury Plains to the east. Additionally, the West Coast is indented with its rough coastlines like the Fiordland. All these types of landscapes created the ideal setting for the setting of the Lord of the Rings. Because of its tectonic movement, the risk of earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanic activity is high.

New Zealand Physical Map


New Zealand Regions Map

Regions are the first-level administrative unit in New Zealand that are divided geographically and administratively. Currently, there are 16 regions that are part of New Zealand. While eleven of the regions have regional councils, five have territorial authority. The second-level administration units are districts. But they are not subdivisions of regions. Instead, they have their own geographic boundary and can fall into one or more regions.

New Zealand Regions Map

World Atlas

Visit our world atlas and explore all the continents and countries of the world. Get a blueprint of the world with political, satellite, and topographic maps.